The Nelson Area Paddlers
The Nelson Downriver
2006 Canoe and Kayak Race Results

Location: Tye and James rivers, Nelson County, VA.
Course: Put-in on the Tye about 2 miles upstream from the confluence with the James River near Ruckers Run. Paddle 2 miles to the confluence of the Tye and James and another 5 miles on the James to the DGIF boat landing at Wingina, VA.
Many thanks to Sue and Ethan Saliba for allowing us to use their property on the Tye River.

Vital Statistics:
Date: May 6, 2006
High Temp: approximately 76 degrees
Conditions: Sunny
Participation: 67 paddlers and 49 boats
River Levels: (adjusted for time of race)
Tye+Piney: 67 + 42 = 109 cfs, 3.0 ft.
James (avg. Bent Creek and Scottsville): 2800 cfs. 3.75 ft.

Please: notify if you see any errors such as name misspellings, incorrect times, etc.
On This Page
Race Results
News and Commentary
Participation Counts

OC1Open Canoe, 1 paddler
OC2Open Canoe, 2 paddlers
Mixed1 male & 1 female
K1Kayak, 1 paddler
K2Kayak, 2 paddlers
Saturday, May 6, 2006
Solo Canoe
OC1 Male (Advanced)
1. Tom Brubach1:09:51
2. Ed Sharp1:10:18
OC1 Male Masters
1. Conny Roussos1:13:48
2. Bob Whaley1:26:54
3. Andy Lee1:35:21
4. Richard Mellon1:35:39
OC1 Male
1. Lee Williams1:13:40
2. Dale Swanson1:24:55
3. Daryl Beck1:30:11
4. Joe DeMaglio2:04:08
OC1 Male (Formula 14)
1. Phil Welker1:13:46
OC1 Female
1. Terri Bsullak1:41:42
Tandem Canoe
OC2 Male
1. Kevin Shifflett & Dave Howard1:10:15
2. Greg Grant & John Proffitt1:14:16
OC2 Female
1. Lois Powers and Carey Collins1:51:50
OC2 Father/Son
1. David and Andrew Welker1:16:59
2. Nick and Paul Sarandria1:37:56
3. George and Trent Powerll1:40:05
OC2 Father/Daughter
1. Isabel and Tom Blue1:14:51
2. Laura and Nelson Teed1:15:41
OC2 Mixed
1. Lynn McDuffie & William McDuffie1:04:18
2. Matt and Lisa Shoener1:15:17
3. Dave Perault and Leann Martin1:18:44
4. Corrie Pedro & Kevin Parker1:20:58
5. Dave and Roxanne Dorman1:32:24
6. Lisa Powers and Corey Collins1:51:50
OC2 Mixed Masters
1. John and Natalie De Boer1:24:30
2. Andre and Marie Dereyn1:28:21
3. Ron Hartshoin and Nancy Roland1:35:56
K1 Female
1. Carol Tucker1:21:59
2. Wendy Dalton1:26:10
3. Jennifer Stertzer1:27:24
K1 Female Masters (over 50)
1. Marti Merritt1:22:14
2. Phyllis White1:43:01
3. Barb Franco1:43:09
K1 Male
1. Ray Legge1:08:05
2. Gordon Dalton1:11:00
3. Stephen Moore1:17:18
4. Chris Strucker1:35:01
K1 Male Masters (over 45)
1. Tom Eick1:08:35
2. Ronnie Tucker1:14:16
3. Sam Keaton1:17:44
4. Terrence Musser1:22:02
5. Daniel Borick1:39:40
K1 Female Junior
1. Suzie Hartzog1:29:40
2. Nancy Babs1:56:49
K2 Sit-On-Top
1. Brian Batts and Trey Borum1:23:06

The Outstanding Paddler Award for 2006 goes to Tom Brubach

Outstanding Paddler Ceremony
The Nelson Downriver Race is held annually, normally on the first Saturday of May. Normally, the entire race is on the Tye river but due to low water conditions this year the race was moved downstream. The race course this year included the final 2 miles of the Tye River plus 5 miles on the James River. Each year the name of the award winner is incribed onto a brass plate that is placed onto a ceremonial paddle displayed in the Nelson Center in Lovingston, VA. An additional wooden paddle is inscribed and given to the winner of the award at the culmination of the awards ceremony.

This year's winner, Tom Brubach, won an unprecedented 3 simultaneous awards; the first, of course, being the Outstanding Paddler Award. Additionally Tom won the ugliest boat award and the cheapest paddles award. Congratulations, Tom! We don't know how you did it :-)

National Champs
This year's participants included 4 national whitewater downriver racing champions.
(See for information on the Whitewater Open Canoe Downriver National Championships.)

Canoe and Kayak Racing Categories
Canoe and Kayak Racing Categories are almost too numerous to mention. Boats may be separated into different classes based upon many criteria including the following The reason for the distinctions (different classes) is that it is very difficult to judge the comparative paddling abilities of individuals when they are paddling different kinds of boats. The longer, lighter and more narrow a boat is the faster it tends to be.
Unfortunately, in many races there are not enough participating craft to divide them into proper classes. In fact, in some events, notably many triathlons, no distinction is made whatsoever. Obviously some attempt should be made to create classes of comparable boats whenever possible. A short, broad kayak designed for fishing in a pond is certainly no match for an Olympic racing canoe, so narrow (and fast) that only highly trained paddlers can stay upright for more than a few seconds.

Probably the easiest and most useful distinction is that used at the National Downriver Whitewater Recreational Canoe Championships sponsored by the American Canoe Association. Boats that compete there are divided into 2 classes referred to as formula 16 and formula 14 (or sometimes as 16% and 14%).
Formula 16 boats must be made of plastic (vinyl/ABS, polyethylene, etc). or aluminum or wood/canvas. Additionally ratio of the width of the boat mesasured at the 4 inch waterline to the length of the boat may not be less than 16%. These must be commercially available boats. Some modifications such as the inclusion of a limited amount of additional flotation may be made. However, allowed modifications are very restrictive.

The formula 14 category is designed for faster boats. These boats may be constructed of other lighter materials such as fiberglass, kevlar, woodstrips, graphite and carbon fiber. The ratio of the width at the 4 inch waterline to the length may not be less than 14.375% for formula 14 boats.

To see the full specifications for formula 16 and formula 14 canoe racing connect to

Race Photos
Reduced resolution photos of most paddlers are dinplayed on this website. Thanks to Vernon Powell, local canoeing guide and event photographer and Emily Harper, Director of Nelson Co. Parks and Rec. for sharing in the photography duties.
Those who wish a CD of full-resolution race photos may purchase one by sending a check for $5.00 to
Conny Roussos
245 Cabell Mt Ln
Arrington, VA 22922

Thanks again to Ethan and Sue Saliba for their generosity in allowing us all to use their riverfront property..

Support Personnel
Nancy Welker, Gail Roussos

Race Judges:
Phil Welker (Head judge), Conny Roussos, Dave Thomas, Dave Perault & Tom Eick

Race Committee:
Phil Welker (Chair), Conny Roussos, Dave Thomas, Dave Perault and Tom Eick

Safety Boats:
Dave Thomas and Vernon Powell

Vernon Powell, Emily Harper, Kevin Shifflett

Phil Welker, Dave Welker

Timers and Statisticians:
Phil Welker, Dave Welker, Judy Parrish

Food Preparation:
Dave Thomas, Nancy Welker, Tom Eick, Pierre Constans, Betty Powell + other coconspirators.

Shuttle Drivers:
Pierre Constans, Kathy Hilliard.

Race Medallions and T-Shirts
Emily Harper

Preparation of Award Paddle:
Dave Thomas

Top of this page   Top of page      Home page   Home page