The Nelson Area Paddlers
The Nelson Downriver
Canoe and Kayak Race Results

The 2001 race was held on the Tye and James rivers. Paddlers put-in on the Tye 100 yards above the confluence with Rucker's Run. They paddled 1.5 mi. to the confluence with the James and then 5.5 miles to the take-out at the Rt. 56 bridge at Wingina for a total of 7 miles.
Many thanks to Sue and Ethan Saliba for allowing us to use their property on the Tye River.

Saturday, May 5, 2001
OC1 Male Advanced
1. Kirk Havens1:16:24
2. Phil Welker1:17:06
3. Conny Roussos1:19:48
OC1 Male
1. Dave Thomas1:19:35
2. Ralph Hambric1:24:13
3. Wes Meares1:37:40
OC1 Female
1. Linda Crowe1:29:03
2. Joanne White2:17:30
OC2 Male
1. Ragland & Kevin Shifflett1:17:06
2. Greg Grant & Junior Pippen1:18:38
3. A. McFadden & William Orme1:27:41
4. John Proffit & Bobby Pippen1:28:20
OC2 Mixed
1. Karla Havens & Ed Sharp1:09:41
2. Tom Eick & Roxanne Ingersall1:23:03
OC2 Father/Son
1. Dave Welker & Andrew Welker1:23:24
2. Randy Hewitt & Kenny Hewitt1:47:35
K1 Female
1. Sue Saliba1:27:08
2. Frankee Love1:44:16
3. Carol Bauer1:47:17
K1 Male
1. Tom Eick1:13:10
2. Jim Hennessee1:19:20
3. Dave Perault1:22:27

The Outstanding Paddler Award for 2001 - Karla Havens

Support Personnel
Other Information
Nancy Welker and Tammy Hewitt

Race Judges:
Phil Welker (Head judge), Conny Roussos & Tom Eick

Race Committee:
Phil Welker (Chair), Conny Roussos, Sue Saliba, Kevin Shifflett, Ros Ashemore and Tom Eick

Safety Boats:
Vernon Powell

Vernon Powell

Phil Welker, Conny Roussos, Matt & Lisa Schoener

Timers and Statisticians:
Phil and Nancy Welker and Tom Eick

Food Preparation:
Nancy Welker, Tammy Hewitt & Volunteers too numerous to mention.

32 participants and 22 boats

Top of this page   Top of page      Home page   Home page